Meet Alicia: NFCA’s New Communications Assistant

June 8, 2012 at 10:00 am Leave a comment

Up until about a year ago, I had never heard of celiac disease.  I had heard of gluten, but never gave much thought to what it was.  I don’t have celiac disease and up until I started working at NFCA, I didn’t know anyone who had it either.

I heard about celiac disease for the first time while working in clinical trial advertising.   Since I knew nothing about the disease, I did some background research and found that people with the autoimmune disease couldn’t eat gluten.  Well that’s no big deal, I thought.  And then I kept reading.

I couldn’t believe gluten is in pretty much everything and the number of serious health risks it can cause for people with celiac disease and other gluten-related disorders.  The thought that people can get sick if a crouton falls on their salad was shocking. It didn’t take long until I felt a certain attachment to that project and the people we were trying to reach out to because of the life-altering effects of celiac disease.

For a while, I’ve known that I wanted to work at a nonprofit organization.  I always thought that nonprofits are where people are most passionate about their work and that’s exactly where I wanted to be.  I’m still learning a lot about celiac disease, but I’m excited to take on the challenge.  I never cease to be amazed by the powers of social media and there’s an amazing sense of togetherness in the online celiac and gluten-free community.  Between the website resources, knowledgeable bloggers, Tweet-ers, and Facebook-ers, there’s a wealth of information about gluten-related disorders to be shared.

I am truly looking forward to diving into this online group and sharing celiac and gluten-free resources from NFCA as well as learning more from this amazing community!

–       Alicia

Entry filed under: Alicia. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Celiac Disease Information, Please! Spring Recap: Traveling for Celiac Disease Education and Advocacy

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Follow Us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 171 other followers

Gluten in Medications Survey
Nourished Blogger Conference

