Tips for Traveling Gluten-Free By Plane, Train and Automobile

December 19, 2011 at 3:56 pm 5 comments

[NFCA volunteer Annsley is back with more gluten-free holiday tips. This time, she explains how to prepare for travel when gluten-free food may be limited.]

We all know what it’s like to be in a packing frenzy less than 12 hours before your trip.  My favorite holiday flick is “Home Alone,” when the family is packing up a gaggle of people and things, and then of course comes the missing headcount when Macaulay Culkin gets left behind.

In all my packing frenzy, I have yet to forget my daughter.  However, I will never forget my honeymoon to New Zealand, land of beauty, tranquility, and cars that drive on the “other” side of the road.  My newlywed husband and I were shutting the door to our apartment and locking it as he turned to me and said, “I don’t have my driver’s license.”  What I interpreted from him, “I haven’t seen my driver’s license in 3 weeks since we took that trip to Savannah.”  Did I mention that I’d already been having nightmares about driving on the other side of the road or that you cannot drive a car in another country with just your passport?  So started the beginning of our marriage and my new career as a chauffer.  (In these past 4 years, he hasn’t lost his driver’s license again – just his passport!)

Annsley Klehr

Annsley Klehr

These days, most of the packing falls to me: Did I remember my contacts, my phone charger, the baby’s wipes, diapers, and my underwear?!  And of course, we’ve all made it halfway to our destination when we remember exactly what it was we could not put our finger on – my daughter’s pajamas – and we still have a good time.

But wait! Ever since being diagnosed with celiac disease, I have to remember the cooler, too!  It always seemed enough to worry about my suitcase, but now traveling gluten-free has added a bit of extra packing stress to my life.  To combat the frenetic packing zone I get in, I have a few helpful hints that get me traveling and still feeling good with relatively few hassles.

By Plane

I almost always get stopped going through security.  Once my unopened jar of peanut butter was confiscated for being a liquid.  Yep, that’s right!  My unopened can of tuna got the same bad rap.  I have now learned a few tricks of the trade to make it through the security checkpoint without losing a thing, even if it is as liquid.  I pack for both my daughter and myself the night before the trip:

1. Carry a doctor’s note with you.  Make several color copies of it (so you have the real deal safe at home), and laminate them so that you have several copies to save and with which to travel.  Whenever security stops you, just pull it out.  If you don’t have one, write your own little card explaining your dietary issues.

2. Carry a travel-size cooler with an arm strap.  To manage my load, I consider this my personal item, and then I usually take a backpack so my hands are free to grab my daughter.

3. Ice packs – I always put all my food in a cooler with an ice pack.  If you’re nervous about an ice pack, you can use those plastic re-useable ice cubes and fit them in a snack size zip-lock baggy.  It’s less than 2 oz., so you don’t have to worry.

4. Stash good snacks in the cooler. I pre-bag all snacks in little bags or small plastic tupperware containers.  They come in handy later in the trip.  This is a good way to empty your fridge before leaving, so I just fill the cooler with what we have on hand.

  • Sandwich – I usually will make some sort of gluten-free sandwich or two to carry on.  That way, I don’t travel with that jar of peanut butter.
  • Baby Bonbel individually wrapped cheese or string cheese.  Cracker Barrel has prepackaged cheeses, too.
  • Fruit – grapes, clementines, apples
  • Gluten-free pretzels – I put these in a little reusable sandwich bag.  Glutino makes some good ones.
  • Crackers – We like Back to Nature brand.
  • Trail Mix – Enjoy Life makes several kinds.  Sometimes, I mix my own with gluten-free pretzels, seeds, nuts, raisins, and cranberries.
  • Gluten-free muffins – I often bake up what’s in my house, take some with me and freeze the rest.
  • Raw veggies – carrots, cucumbers, celery, baby tomatoes
  • Yogurt – either the individual cups, I put some in a little container.
  • A treat – Kinnikinnick makes excellent graham crackers, but use what you’d like. Plan to pack extra.  See #8.

5. Plastic Utensils – I try to keep a knife, fork, spoon, and napkins always in the cooler pocket.  That way I never forget, and if they break or I lose one we can always pick up more in the airport.

6. Baby Wipes – These are great for cleaning up messes.

7. Extra Ziploc bags – I use them for trash or repacking opened items, but if you forget, you can always use the barf bag on the airplane as long as you don’t get motion sick!

8. A special kid’s snack for the snack cart or, in my case, bribery – It became clear that my cute, boisterous, and obstinate daughter refused to put her seatbelt on and sit in her seat at take off.  To settle her down, the flight attendant offered her animal crackers with gluten. Yikes!  I have since learned to carry my own treat to sneak to the flight attendant in such instances.  This can also be used when the drink and snack cart gets pushed around, too.

By Train or Car

1. Bring a cooler, but a larger one than the one used for the plane. Use the tips above to think of good food ideas. Make sure to pack it all up the night before and leave the food in containers in the fridge until just before heading out.
Buy some ice.

2. Bring non-perishables, too – I usually pack a grocery bag full of gluten-free bread, peanut butter (or whatever you can eat), jelly and canned tuna, along with a can-opener, plastic utensils, napkins, wipes, etc.  That way, if we have to stop and there’s nothing around, I have my own little dining stash.

3. Carry a dining card with you at all times that specifies what you can and cannot eat.  I like to give this to the chefs in restaurants when I go out; it makes my life so much easier.

4. Research your route and find acceptable dining locations and groceries – To this day, I use the old-fashioned map.  I put dots on it along our route so I know where it’s safe to stop and sometimes the hours they’re open.  We often drive late at night.

Packing ahead of time and cleaning out the refrigerator before I go really helps me in terms of time management and maintaining a low anxiety level.  No matter how delayed we are or how often the car breaks down, I am always well prepared.  Happy, healthy, and safe travels over this holiday season!

– Annsley Klehr
Gluten Freedoms, LLC

Related Content:

Entry filed under: Guest. Tags: , , , , , .

Holiday Giving: What’s Your Approach? A Gluten-Free Holiday Treat, No Baking Required

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Darron  |  December 20, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    These tips are great. We do not take a lot of plane trips but the ones we do are snackless. These tips will help! A cooler is a must for road trips. Works great.

    Reply
  • 2. jeevageorge  |  December 21, 2011 at 12:45 am

    These are things which even I resort to but in the Indian subcontinent they are going to understand unless i give them a 101 lesson at airports. The good part being South Indian you have many gluten free options. You can choose from sweet and savoury – Dosa, Appam, Idly’s , Iddiyappam, rice pancakes – mostly with diff consistencies. Lot of rice recipes ..so lot of the motorway restaurants usually serve these especially in South India. Most of South India fast food is gluten free.:)

    Reply
  • […] volunteer Annsley Klehr has been a hit over at NFCA's staff blog, so we invited her to join our reviewers at Gluten-Free Hot Products. Annsley will be sharing her […]

    Reply
  • 4. Melanie  |  February 17, 2012 at 9:22 pm

    Hi Annsley! Can you tell me which cooler you recommend? I’m going to be traveling by plane soon, and would like to take all the mentioned snacks -but, worry about keeping the yogurt cold enough. I hope to take some extra to have on hard through the week. I’m thinking if I take the squeeze tubes of yogurt frozen it will work perfect. I’m always worried about dairy products going bad.

    Thanks in advance!

    Reply
    • 5. Annsley  |  February 20, 2012 at 12:59 pm

      I got my cooler at target and the brand is embark. If you send me your email, I’ll send you a picture of it.

      I put the ice packs on the bottom and stick the food that needs to stay coldest like deli meat down there. The food I will use more immediately at the top.

      Let me know how your trip goes, and if you have more helpful tips!

      Annsley

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Follow Us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 171 other followers

Gluten in Medications Survey
Nourished Blogger Conference

