Beer, Burgers and Bok Choy: Gluten-Free at Friedman’s Lunch

November 11, 2011 at 12:29 pm Leave a comment

Last month, I took a few days off from the NFCA office and made the short trip to New York City to visit one of my very dear friends from college who was stateside from her time as a Peace Corps volunteer in Ukraine. Aside from having some good old-fashioned girl time with one of my best friends, I had been looking forward to exploring the gluten-free options in NYC, too.

Even though Manhattan is a quick 90-minute drive from Philly, I don’t visit nearly as often as I would like. This time around, I had the good fortune of squeezing in Friedman’s Lunch (located inside of Chelsea Market) twice in my 3-day visit.

I had wanted to check out Friedman’s Lunch ever since I tried Feel Good Foods gluten-free dumplings. The product was launched earlier this year by Vanessa Phillips and Tryg Siverson, who owned Friedman’s Lunch at the time.

My first Friedman’s experience included their brown rice bowl (I love Japanese eggplant and bok choy, which has become a staple in my fridge as of late) and Estrella Damm Daura, the gluten-free beer from Barcelona, Spain. Between seeing my friend Anna for the first time in over a year to sipping on Daura for the first time, I was in heaven!

Estrella Damm Daura

The "World's Best Gluten-Free Beer"

I know that members of the celiac community have been wary of Daura since it’s made with barley malt, yet falls below 6 ppm. Well, as a very sensitive celiac, I managed just fine. And with Daura winning the “World’s Best Gluten-Free Beer” for the second year running in 2011, I don’t think I need to explain just how much I enjoyed the beer. (As it turns out, I learned that Philadelphia’s 10 Arts Bistro & Lounge just started carrying Daura, so now I know where to go for a local brew).

Two days later, we returned to Friedman’s and despite a line out the door, we were seated within minutes. (Very friendly staff!) I had wavered between a sandwich and the brown rice bowl earlier in the week. I decided that since eating a safe gluten-free sandwich out at a restaurant is such a rare menu option, I would try the cheeseburger. And because French fries are not always prepared in a safe fryer, I decided to go all out and splurge on the calories.

If you didn’t think my Wednesday lunch could be topped, think again: this was the first time I was eating a gluten-free cheeseburger out at a restaurant since being diagnosed more than 4 years ago. Even though I was full about halfway in (check out the pic below – the burger and Katz bun are huge!), I kept going. How could I not?

Gluten-Free Burger at Friedman's Lunch

My first gluten-free cheeseburger at a restaurant!

A very big thanks to the staff at Friedman’s Lunch. Your gluten-free menu options made my week! A special thanks to Vanessa and Tryg, too, for pioneering those options. Good luck as you take the gluten-free world by storm!

– Kristin

Entry filed under: Kristin. Tags: , , , , , , .

Meet Camille: Newly Diagnosed and Gluten-Free in College Gluten-Free Thanksgiving Tips: 3 Scenarios

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Follow Us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 172 other followers

Gluten in Medications Survey
Nourished Blogger Conference

