Tales from an NFCA Intern

August 26, 2011 at 12:30 pm 1 comment

[As summer comes to a close, we at NFCA are remiss to say goodbye to our dedicated interns. We know they’ve learned a lot, and we sure liked having them around! Here, our Communications intern Rachel shares how she made a difference in the celiac community.]

Let me start off by saying that working as the Communications intern here at the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness (NFCA) has been such a great experience.  Not only have I improved my writing skills, organizational skills, and communication skills, but I also have learned so much about celiac disease.

I am returning to the University of Rhode Island as a junior with a better understanding of my own work ethic and how well I manage tasks. I have participated in so many projects here at NFCA that have taught me a lot.

I would have to say that my favorite project was conducting interviews with children that have celiac disease for the next phase of Kids Central on the NFCA website. It was great to hear kids discuss and speak out about their disease in a healthy and triumphant way. I was delighted to know that the questions I put together had some impact on them and that they would end up published on the website with their answers. Not only was this a project that I found to be successful, but I also feel as if it might open other doors in the future with NFCA.

Gluten-Free BBQ Chicken

Leaving my mark - Gluten-Free BBQ Chicken for the office!

In addition, I thoroughly enjoyed reading and writing book reviews. I reviewed quite a few books, with material ranging from nursing advice to easy-to-follow recipes for any gluten-free foodie. One of my book reviews even turned up on a Google Alert, which impressed and delightfully surprised me.

I will miss spending my Tuesdays and Thursdays here in the office helping outreach to people who need to be educated about celiac disease. My 10am-4pm slots on those days will soon be filled with class; however, I won’t be making as much as a difference in the community as I was working for NFCA over the summer.

I hope my journey with NFCA won’t end here and that I will return next summer!

Sincerely, Rachel Fox

Entry filed under: Rachel. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

There is No Place Like Home (Plate) Off to Medical School: A Mom’s Day Out

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Follow Us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 171 other followers

Gluten in Medications Survey
Nourished Blogger Conference

