Meet Jordan: NFCA Intern & Health Advocate

June 10, 2011 at 9:55 am 3 comments

[NFCA is lucky to have 3 interns helping the cause this summer. We’ve already introduced Emily and Rachel. Now meet Jordan, our Healthcare Relations intern.]

I am a true believer in the saying “Everything happens for a reason.” So when I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes at age 6, and celiac when I was 15, I knew my path was headed toward a profession in healthcare.

I will be a senior at the University of Delaware in the fall and will graduate with a dietetics degree next spring. When people ask me what my major is, there is a lack of surprise in their response when I tell them it is nutrition. I have been managing my diabetes and celiac disease for so long that I can’t imagine getting involved with anything else.

Jordan at the office

Ready to work!

After switching endocrinologists when I was in my teens, my new doctor did a routine test for celiac. There seems to be a link between type 1 diabetes and celiac, so they knew to check for it. My dad was diagnosed with celiac 2 years later. Unfortunately, he had been suffering from the symptoms for quite some time. If it had not been for my diagnosis, he probably still would not have been tested or know what was wrong. This experience led me to want to do so much for the awareness of this disease.

I was extremely happy when I received the opportunity to intern at the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness (NFCA) this summer. When I was diagnosed with celiac 6 years ago, I did not have any support groups or people to talk about it with. I love what NFCA is doing for the celiac community and cannot wait to work with them this summer.

– Jordan

Entry filed under: Jordan. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

The Comeback Kid Disaster Preparedness: Gluten-Free Needs

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. matthew place  |  June 10, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    What symptoms did your dad have? I was recently diagnosed myself only because I broke out with DH. But in hindsight I probably had CD for quite awhile.

    Reply
  • 2. Jordan Silverman  |  June 10, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    My Dad and I had very similar symptoms- stomach aches, bloating, & diarrhea, after eating. I was embarrassed to bring it up with the doctor and thought it was just how I was supposed to feel after eating. No DH for us.

    Reply
  • […] am a type 1 diabetic. I have been for over 15 years. The conversations that begin over my insulin pump eventually lead […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Follow Us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 171 other followers

Gluten in Medications Survey
Nourished Blogger Conference

