A Blogger A Day: Gluten-Free Foodies

May 8, 2011 at 8:09 am 2 comments

A Blogger A Day, the Gluten-Free Way logoName: Lisa Garza
Lives in: Bainbridge Island, WA

Blogs at: www.glutenfreefoodies.blogspot.com
Tweets at: www.twitter.com/glutenfreefoodi
Friend her at: www.facebook.com/glutenfreefoodie

Why we’re fans: Lisa’s motto is “Celebrate the Foods that You Can Eat,” and her blog does just that. From product reviews, to local events, to meal ideas with a theme, Lisa’s posts are all about sharing the joys of gluten-free eating. What’s more, Lisa wants everyone to join the celebration, so she’s working to put gluten-free options on local food pantry shelves. And on this Mother’s Day, Lisa is celebrating her healthy gluten-free lifestyle with her “little one” – a yorkie named Mac!

Lisa Garza

Lisa Garza

Lisa’s Story: I have celiac disease, triggered after a car accident 8 years ago. I also have chronic pain. My blog is my therapy – it gets me out of bed every day and gives me purpose to guide others on their new adventure without gluten and on to better health. I love to be in the kitchen now more than ever. I lovethe challenges of cooking and baking gluten-free. Sure, there are days that I am frustrated, but I love the reward of knowing that I have used my mind, body and soul to create something really good. I love it even more when people ask me for seconds or to make something again! And of course, I love connecting with other Gluten-Free Foodies!

gluten-free salmon chowder

Gluten-Free Salmon Chowder

According to Lisa: The most unexpected part of going gluten-free was the realization that there are so many people like me. It boggles my mind to think about the numbers! When I started writing my blog, I thought of it as a way for me to write down some information about celiac disease that I researched or products that I found. I have a habit of talking to everybody and anybody who will listen. When I randomly talked to people at the grocery store or at a restaurant, writing it down online was a great way to say, “When you get a chance … check out my blog for info on this new product, or info I just discovered.” It was a lot easier than sending out a bunch of emails. I never really thought that I would meet so many amazing people. I really love blogging and it is such a natural fit for me to do it all – cooking, baking, writing, pictures and chat, chat, chat!

A taste of Gluten-Free Foodies:

For more of NFCA’s Celiac Awareness Month celebration, visit www.CeliacCentral.org/awarenessmonth.

Entry filed under: Cheryl. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

A Blogger A Day: The Gluten-Free Cerealizer A Blogger A Day: The Spicy RD

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mark Riggio  |  May 22, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    Massachusetts CD Foundation Please inspect product and labeling for Toni’s Own ; Homemade Anisette Cookies.
    12 Linscott Road, Woburn MA 01801.

    Thank you
    Mark~~

    Reply
  • 2. lisa garza  |  June 2, 2011 at 12:28 pm

    I will thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 172 other followers

Gluten in Medications Survey
Nourished Blogger Conference

