Celiac Advocacy: It’s All About Who You Know

May 6, 2011 at 3:12 pm Leave a comment

I cringe just hearing the word “needles,” so I always figured a career in healthcare wasn’t in the cards. Yet, since I graduated college, my job has always been tied to the medical profession.Celiac CME Central

At the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness (NFCA), my sole focus is, well, a disease. Telling people about it, making life better for those who live with it, and celebrating when we do. I work closely with the healthcare team to build relationships with the medical community and bring you the latest in research news. Did I ever think “immunoglobulin” would creep into my vocabulary? Nope, and I doubt many do.

Before joining NFCA, I worked for ADVANCE Newsmagazines, a series of trade publications for healthcare professionals. There, I met Michael Gerchufsky, editor of ADVANCE for Nurse Practitioners & Physician Assistants.ADVANCE for NPs & PAs

To me, ADVANCE for NPs & PAs is the gold standard. Peer-reviewed articles, continuing medical education (CME) activities, and a strong presence at national conferences – it has a lot of clout, just as a trade publication should.

Knowing this, I called Michael about 2 months ago. We were looking for new ways to tell medical professionals about our free CME for primary care providers (www.CeliacCMECentral.com), and I thought ADVANCE for NPs & PAs would be the perfect platform.  As luck would have it, Michael was already planning to run a celiac disease article. And, even better luck, it was scheduled for May!

The end result: CeliacCMECentral.com is highlighted in the article as a valuable course NPs & PAs should take advantage of. The article, titled “Celiac Disease: Furor in the Small Intestine” also includes charts with facts and figures from NFCA.

I couldn’t be happier with the outcome, and I hope NPs and PAs take this opportunity to learn about celiac disease. (Did I mention that it’s free?)

I’m sure a lot of us have connections in the medical community we haven’t even thought about. But you can make a difference just by sharing our Celiac CME with healthcare providers. So, pick your brain, dig through your contacts and tell the doctors you know to get informed!

Learn why you should tell your provider to take the Celiac CME »

– Cheryl

Entry filed under: Cheryl. Tags: , , , , , , .

A Blogger A Day: Gluten-Free Optimist A Blogger A Day: The Gluten-Free Cerealizer

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Follow Us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 171 other followers

Gluten in Medications Survey
Nourished Blogger Conference

