Finding Relief: My Gluten-Free First Aid Kit

April 19, 2011 at 12:09 pm Leave a comment

[As you know, the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness staff members are big Phillies fans. So when one of our newest volunteers, Nadina Fraimow, told us she shared the same passion for sports, wellness and all things Phillies, we had to get her on board. Nadina will be sharing her gluten-free experience throughout the 2011 Phillies season.]

Stuck on the Mound
A Phightin’ to Be Gluten Free Blog

As I watched Cliff Lee’s second game, I commiserated with his frustration and look of being stuck on the mound.  In an off night for Lee, he pitched merely 3 1/3 innings and gave up six runs, ten hits, one walk, and three strikeouts.

My sense of stuck has occurred numerous times, especially after a rough gluten episode or doctor blunder.  However, I have learned to brush off defeat and snap out of it, with the help from something I call the relief bag.  Similar to a relief pitcher, or pinch hitter, the items in my “go to” bag offer extra support.

The Gluten Free Bible by Jax Peters Lowell- A bon voyage gift from my Mom before traveling post diagnosis. This book, intended to be an easy plane read, became my patient advocate guide.  For example, prior to reading Chapter 8, “How to Get a Chef to Eat out of Your Hand”, enjoyable restaurant experiences were infrequent and dining out, in a city full of amazing cuisine became obsolete. I found that through reading this book, my food preparation concerns diminished just in time to enjoy some memorable dinners with my boyfriend on vacation.

Heating pad – An oldie, but goodie in my medicine chest that eases discomfort from sports injuries, cramps and bloating.  My travel friendly heating pad alleviates pressure from “gluten episodes” and helps relax clenched stomach muscles.

Running sneakers, yoga mat and Be-LEE-ve t-shirt- From gym bag to relief bag, these items are holistic strengtheners and attitude changers.  They help me push through the set backs and restore balance in my life.  For example, I unfortunately experienced all the side effects of a newly prescribed stomach medication on the night of the Oscars, one of my favorite times of year to relax.  Decked out in my Lee apparel, I yoga stretched and distance ran a total of 12.5 miles while cheering The Social Network, The Kings Speech and myself to victory.

Trader Joe’s Gluten Free Dark Chocolate Nibs- As a chocolate lover, I always make sure I have a tin of these sweets in my kitchen cabinet, office drawer and purse. After numerous occasions (at weddings, sporting games, airports, etc.) of being unprepared and just plain miserable with hunger, I have learned to always carry gluten free emergency “in a pinch” snacks and to never go anywhere hungry.

Phightin’ Phillies fans: What items go into your relief bag?

About Nadina

Nadina Fraimow began volunteering with the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness (NFCA) in April 2011, and will be happy to answer messages sent to the info@celiaccentral.org email account. Nadina learned that she had a gluten sensitivity in February 2011, and is grateful for having been diagnosed promptly and correctly by a knowledgeable gastroenterologist. She enjoys running, shopping for gluten free sweets and creating recipes that are both tasty and healthy. Nadina is a Marketing and Communications professional living and working in Philadelphia. Nadina is also a proud Penn State alumna and an avid fan of the Phillies.

Entry filed under: Nadina. Tags: , , , , , , .

Celiac Disease, Functional Medicine, and an Event For All Welcome Emily: NFCA’s Newest Team Member & Culinary Whiz

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Follow Us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 171 other followers

Gluten in Medications Survey
Nourished Blogger Conference

