I Did It!

March 18, 2011 at 10:02 am 1 comment

Such a buoyant cry of delight!

This past weekend, I visited my family in Virginia which really means I went to see my two small grandsons: Max, age 2 ½, and Mason, 15 months.  Yes, they are terribly cute and amazingly clever little boys!

To keep Max amused while I was making lunch, I suggested that he work on a puzzle. It was one of those lovely wooden ones with farm animals and tractors.

Max went about his business of puzzle assembly and I turned to the niceties of kids’ lunches. All quiet on the home front.

Suddenly, I heard, “Nana, I did it!” Hands raised as if celebrating a touchdown, Max had a moment of total joy and triumph.

Max

Little Max. Isn't he a doll?

If you can believe it, his accomplishment made me think of all of the folks who have been struggling with undiagnosed celiac disease and, having finally learned the cause of their suffering, are moving into a reclaimed gluten-free life. I guess it was being in the kitchen that brought this association to mind.

We all know that this is not the easiest transition to make. After acceptance comes the search for how best to live happily in a new world. Lots of questions about what is gluten-free, followed by the search for tasty and healthy products.  At first, most women wonder about the hazards of dining out and wonder if they will ever again enjoy a lovely evening on the town. Men want to know what beer they can drink. Yes, these sound like stereotypes, but based on questions that come through our info line (info@celiaccentral.org), they’re true!

Before long, with help, the gluten-free diet becomes routine, and life improves.  And, one day, there comes a moment of realization that, in fact, a shift has been made to a “new normal.” In short, they did it.

Lunch over, Max enlisted me to “play soccer.”  His parents are athletes, so Max has been kicking the soccer ball around since he could walk. He has a child-sized goal and loves it.

So, out we went to pass the ball around and see how we would make out. Within minutes, Max had the ball in the goal.

You guessed it. “Nana, I did it!”

What is your “I did it!” moment?

-Nancy

If you have a personal victory related to your health recovery, whether it’s a new outlook, a change in habits or a successful business venture, share it on the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness’ Celi-Acts page.

If you have a question about the gluten-free diet, submit it to Ask the Dietitian.

Entry filed under: Nancy. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Making “Small Changes” in Health and Wellness Gluten-Free Adventures at Expo West…and an Ode to Bloggers

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. NYNJROCKMOM  |  March 18, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    My “I did it” moment came when I realized that if I wanted to join a local support group for children and families with Celiac, I would actually have to start my own. The NYNJ chapter of R.O.C.K. (Raising Our Celiac Kids) launched in September 2010 and has been going strong since!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 171 other followers

Gluten in Medications Survey
Nourished Blogger Conference

