“Sex and the Celiac” Meets Real Life

February 9, 2011 at 2:41 pm 4 comments

In keeping up with the love and sex theme of February, I have a story to share. Yes, it involves celiac disease and don’t worry, it’s PG!

While out on the town earlier this month, I began chatting with a guy who at one point asked what I do for a living. When I mentioned the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness (NFCA), he smiled and said, “Yea, I have a friend on a gluten-free diet.”

I asked whether the person was diagnosed with celiac disease. He answered no, but proceeded to narrate perhaps the best gluten-free story I have heard in a while (or possibly ever).

It turns out that his friend on a gluten-free diet is a 24-year-old male who experienced digestive problems, including constipation, diarrhea and bloating. Consequently, he noticed his libido was lacking, and his performance in the bedroom was subpar. He remembered reading somewhere that the gluten-free diet had a reputation for alleviating such digestive symptoms, and decided to try it out.

The result? A symptom-free male who could return to the bedroom.

As I’m sure you can imagine, I couldn’t believe what I was hearing.Sex and the Celiac

The timing of this conversation was impeccable, as NFCA was just putting the finishing touches on Sex and the Celiac: The Movie. What a coincidence!

If you haven’t watched the video yet, I highly recommend it.  (A big thanks to our buddies at imc2 for the awesome graphic!) The scenarios in the video are hypothetical, but as my chance encounter proves, they happen in real-life, too.

Do you know someone whose sex drive suffered due to celiac disease? Let’s hear about it! (PG rating appreciated.)

-Kristin

Entry filed under: Kristin. Tags: , , , , , , .

Gluten-Free Food and Tips for the Super Bowl March Madness in the Gluten-Free Market

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anna  |  February 10, 2011 at 9:29 am

    I’m not surprised others have problems with that. I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease in 2008. I do my best to be totally gluten free, but when I get accidentally glutened my sex drive just dies for a few weeks. Blah!

    Reply
    • 2. Kristin  |  February 11, 2011 at 3:44 pm

      Interesting! Thanks for sharing your story.

      Reply
  • 3. D  |  February 10, 2011 at 9:30 am

    My sex drive absolutely disappeared with the initial full onset of my symptoms around age 21. It’s funny, though–I’d never realized that it might be related to celiac disease until reading this post, since lack of sexual desire typically is not mentioned in lists of common symptoms. I always assumed my sex drive plummeted because of the Pill!

    Reply
    • 4. Kristin  |  February 11, 2011 at 3:47 pm

      Thanks for opening up! It’s funny how once diagnosed everything clicks. You start to realize what exactly you were missing out on even though you weren’t totally aware that something was amiss!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Follow Us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 172 other followers

Gluten in Medications Survey
Nourished Blogger Conference

