An Uphill Battle

December 2, 2010 at 12:40 pm Leave a comment

Kristin's Grandma

Grandma

It’s that time of year again. Time for my grandmother, 89 years adorable, to call me so that she can review the ingredients of her favorite holiday recipes. I’ve been diagnosed for three and a half years but somehow the questions and comments such as, “It has a teaspoon of flour in it. Can you have it?” and “What do you mean you had bread? I thought you couldn’t eat bread. What’s it made out of?,” still arise. Like I said, she’s 89 years adorable so I can’t help but smile.

This year the questions and comments were no different. But the food around the table was. For the first time in three years my family’s entire Thanksgiving meal was gluten-free, complete with the Gluten-Free Goddess’ corn-bread stuffing and my aunt’s homemade pear and cranberry almond flour crisp. I left the table with my belly full and my heart happy.

While cleaning up, I casually mentioned that I should make this year’s Christmas lasagna using rice noodles. My aunt slowly stopped toweling off the dish she was holding and my grandmother, with her hands on her hips, asked, “Well, what’s that gonna taste like?”

Looks like I haven’t won this year’s battle just yet.

-Kristin

My gluten-free Christmas lasagna!

Update: The gluten-free lasagna I mentioned above? My family actually let me make it for Christmas dinner. And it was a hit! In fact, they liked my lasagna better than the regular version.

Who said gluten-free didn’t taste good?

-Kristin

Entry filed under: Kristin. Tags: , , , , .

Thanksgiving Leftovers: Everybody Knows Somebody! A Tale of Two Turkeys

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Follow Us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 171 other followers

Gluten in Medications Survey
Nourished Blogger Conference

