A Blogger A Day: Gluten Free Betsy

May 21, 2011 at 1:14 pm 1 comment

A Blogger A Day, the Gluten-Free Way logoName: Betsy Thompson
Lives in: Chicago, IL

Blogs at: www.glutenfreebetsy.com
Tweets at: www.twitter.com/betsybetsybetsy
Like her at: www.facebook.com/glutenfreebetsy

Why we’re fans: Betsy is a sharer. She writes about local gluten-free events and online giveaways, but more importantly, she brings readers through her own gluten-free experiences, whether it’s attending a swanky gluten-free dinner or explaining why a certain product she tried is too good to pass up. Betsy proves that it takes one to know one, and she’s posting her knowledge for all gluten-free newbies (and not-so-newbies) to benefit from.

Betsy Thompson

Betsy Thompson

Betsy’s Story: I was diagnosed with celiac disease in January 2000 and have been gluten-free ever since.  It’s been a world of difference.  I wrote why I started my blog in a post called “Starting from the Beginning…

According to Betsy: The toughest part of going gluten-free trying to come up with alternatives.  When I went gluten-free, there weren’t nearly as many gluten-free alternatives as there are today.  I remember some terrible cookies and crumbly bread.  Luckily I’ve improved my baking skills a bit.

A taste of Gluten Free Betsy:

  • Gluten Free Girl Scout Cookies – Samoas:  This one is from March of last year, but I still get many hits on it.  I decided to make my own “Girl Scout” cookies, since I couldn’t eat the ones from the Girl Scouts.  I found a similar recipe online and adapted it to make it gluten-free.  The comments really made my day, especially the one from Teresa whose daughter was a Girl Scout but never tasted their cookies.
  • Gluten-Free Chicago Potluck: I’m part of the Gluten-Free Chicago group on Gluten-Free Faces. I loved meeting other gluten-free people in Chicago and having a potluck with them!  There’s very few options for me at potlucks, so being able to taste everyone’s dishes was great!  It was such a fun day.
  • Oh Thank Heaven for 20-11: This was my first post of 2011 and where I announced a new feature on my blog, a gluten-free book club.  I love to read, and I read a lot of books on the celiac/gluten-free topic, everything from cookbooks to memoirs to educational pieces.  Since more and more people are being diagnosed with celiac or are going gluten-free, I thought it might be a great place to find the right book they are looking for.  Looking for facts?  Someone’s story to relate to?  Need a collection of great gluten-free recipes?  They’ll find it here, and I was so excited to start that new feature.

For more of NFCA’s Celiac Awareness Month celebration, visit www.CeliacCentral.org/awarenessmonth.

Entry filed under: Cheryl. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

A Blogger A Day: Gluten Free LI A Blogger A Day: Gluten Free Mom

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Shirley @ gfe  |  May 21, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    So happy to see Betsy featured! I was thrilled to finally meet her last month. She’s an enthusiastic advocate for the gluten-free community and I appreciate her! :-)

    Shirley

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Follow Us on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 161 other followers

Gluten in Medications Survey
Nourished Blogger Conference

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 161 other followers

