A Blogger A Day: Simply Sugar & Gluten Free

May 5, 2011 at 9:05 am 1 comment

A Blogger A Day, the Gluten-Free Way logoName: Amy Green
Lives in: Dallas, TX

Blogs at: www.simplysugarandglutenfree.com
Tweets at: www.twitter.com/Amys_SSGF
Like her at: Simply Sugar & Gluten Free on Facebook
On the bookshelf: Simply Sugar & Gluten-Free: 180 Easy & Delicious Recipes You Can Make in 20 Minutes or Less (Find it at Amazon.com, BarnesAndNoble.com and your local Barnes & Noble store.  Many health food stores and other book stores carry it, too.)

Why we’re fans:Even without refined sugar, Amy still manages to create culinary eye candy. Her recipes and accompanying food photos are so enticing, it’s hard not to try them out. That, coupled with the following she’s gathered from activities like Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, explains why her cookbook release earlier this year was such a success. But even as her fame rises, Amy remains a humble and welcoming blogger, and a great supporter of NFCA.

Amy Green

Amy Green

Amy’s Story: I was told by an osteopathic doctor to eliminate wheat and white sugar from my diet because I experienced severe depression, moodiness, migraines and was overweight.  I’ve found that the easiest way to eat wheat-free is to eat gluten-free. I just feel better that way, too. It’s been more than seven years since I’ve had any of the health issues I was experiencing, and I easily lost and maintained a 60 pound weight loss.

Gluten-Free Chocolate Mint Brownies

Amy made these. Now you can, too!

According to Amy: The hardest part about going gluten-free was that it wasn’t ‘buzzy’ back then and no one understood.  Everyone thought I was just being difficult. I didn’t even attempt to bake until I’d been gluten-free for several years. It sounds silly, but I didn’t even know that there were gluten-free flours. Once I found out, though, a whole world opened up for me. I got into the kitchen and have been baking delicious gluten-free desserts ever since.

A taste of Simply Sugar & Gluten Free:

For more of NFCA’s Celiac Awareness Month celebration, visit www.CeliacCentral.org/awarenessmonth.

Entry filed under: Cheryl. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Taste of Asheville: Part 1 A Blogger A Day: Gluten-Free Optimist

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sarena (The Non Dairy Queen)  |  May 5, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    Amy’s story is so touching. I feel for you with feeling like others thought she was being difficult when she went wheat free. For me, people didn’t understand why just a little bit of dairy wasn’t ok. Since I’ve gone dairy free (and now soy free due to allergies) we have discovered my husband, sister-in-law and my grandmother all have celiac. Eating is very interesting in our home, but still tasty!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Follow Us on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 161 other followers

Gluten in Medications Survey
Nourished Blogger Conference

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 161 other followers

